Fort Barnard Park

Here stood Fort Barnard, a redoubt constructed late in 1861 to command the approaches to Alexandria by way of Four Mile Run and Glebe Road. It was named for General J. G. Barnard, Chief Engineer of the Defenses of Washington. It had a perimeter of 250 yards and emplacements for 20 guns.

The park consists of unique features like “fort” themed play equipment, a custom mosaic and a hopscotch area. This park features a playground, picnic shelter, a diamond field (permit takes priority) and a basketball court.

Excerpted from Fort Barnard Historical Marker and Fort Barnard Park